SimEconomy-Logo


The main objective of the simulation is to give an idea of economic coherences. Basic concepts like supply and demand, learning curve effects in the range of production and negotiations will be clarified to the pupils.

Based on these negotiations they have to calculate quantities and prices of goods und react on fluctuations in demand. Thereby an understanding for different types of competitions - e.g. how to benefit from price and quality adjustments - is established.

Moreover the effects of outsourcing are put across. So advantages and disadvantages of different wages, duties and currencies become clear.

Likewise the simulation has an ethical component. The factory owners have to make sure that the workers are well paid, otherwise strikes and evanescent motivation will occur. Beyond different living conditions between Europe and low-wage countries are simulated. Because of missing prohibitions respectively restrictions at the beginning of the game, the pupils can engage in illegal work or anti-competitive agreements to keep the prices on a high level.

The teacher – the end customer – is able to channel the simulation in predefined directions. There are multiple designs to be chosen – diversity in business cycles, import quotas and subsidies are examples.

Hence it is possible to conduct the business simulation many times with the same class without neglecting learning processes, because there is new knowledge created each time.

SimEconomy-Logo


Ziel des Planspiels ist es, einen Einblick in wirtschaftliche Zusammenhänge zu ermöglichen. Den Schüler werden Grundkonzepte wie Angebot und Nachfrage, Erfahrungskurveneffekte in der Produktion und Verhandlungen verdeutlicht.

Auf Basis dieser Verhandlungen müssen sie Mengen und Preise kalkulieren und auf Nachfrageschwankungen reagieren. So wird zudem ein Verständnis für verschiedene Arten von Wettbewerb, also mögliche Konkurrenzvorteile über den Preis bzw. die Qualität geschaffen.

Auch die Auswirkungen von Outsourcing durch die Produktion in verschiedenen Ländern werden beleuchtet. Vor- und Nachteile, die u.a. durch Arbeitslöhne, Zölle und Währungen bedingt sind, werden deutlich.

Ebenso hat das Spiel eine ethische Komponente. Die Fabrikanten müssen sicherstellen, dass die Arbeiter genü-gend Lohn erhalten, Streiks oder Demotivation wären die Folge. Zudem werden unterschiedliche Lebensbedin-gungen in Europa und Billiglohnländern deutlich. Da zu Beginn des Spieles keine Verbote herrschen, könnten die Schüler sogar als Arbeiter Schwarzarbeit betreiben oder als Zwischenhändler Wettbewerbsabsprachen treffen, um die Preis hoch zu halten.

Der Lehrer als Endkunde hat die Möglichkeit, das Spiel in ganz bestimmte Richtungen zu lenken. Es bestehen zahlreiche Ausgestaltungsmöglichkeiten. Konjunkturschwankungen, Importkontingente und Subventionen sind nur wenige mögliche Ereignisse, die der Lehrer beliebig wählen kann.

So ist es möglich, das Planspiel nicht nur einmal, sondern mehrere Male mit dem gleichen Kurs durchzuführen und immer wieder neue Lernfortschritte zu erzielen.